Of rejection mails and laughter 

I hear you thinking out loud, “what’s laughter got to do with rejection mails?”

Well, sometimes they make for funny stories.

We all agree that rejection mails hurt. I think they’re better than not hearing back at all but that’s another entire discourse. I tend to apply for opportunities a lot, so I am very familiar with rejections. I try not to take them too personally, but a particular rejection stands out for me. Can you imagine getting rejected twice by the same scholarship body, in the same application cycle?

Back in 2020, I applied for a scholarship to study in France. Almost 1000 people applied but they had shortlisted about 239 for interviews, with different slots over three days. Luckily, I was shortlisted for the interview. Then I made my first mistake. I was so glad that I had been shortlisted that I started to feel special. In my head, I was soon going to be strolling on the streets of Paris (the school wasn’t even in Paris!). I basked in the euphoria of my self-acclaimed genius status, and I fell asleep before choosing an interview slot. The next day, I contacted a senior colleague who had won the same scholarship and we discussed interview tips at length. At the end of the call, he goes, “when is your interview?

It was at that moment I knew I had messed up. I quickly said my goodbyes and logged on to book a slot, but the worst had happened. There were no slots left! I was gutted.

My thoughts were all over the place. Is this the end? Are “village people” actually following me? Is this another way to screen out people? 

I put my feelings in check and sent a mail to the programme contact person, explaining that I hadn’t gotten a slot yet. I got a response that they would work on it. However, as a Nigerian with serious trust issues, I really did not think anything would be done so I moved on…… kind of….. and this led me to my second mistake. I did not check my mail. Surprisingly, they did get back to me about a slot and required an urgent response. I saw the mail almost 6 hours after! I did not give up. I sent my apologies and asked if I could be given another slot, but I didn’t get any response. Days after, I received a rejection mail. The coordinators had chosen their final awardees. Now the situation wouldn’t have been so bad if I had accepted my fate at this point.

Yet again, I sent a mail expressing my displeasure at not being given a chance to interview. 

I still can’t believe I used the word “dismay”  
 

They did get back to me and I had an interview which I was ill-prepared for. Third mistake. How can you clamor for an interview but fail to prepare for it? Anyway, I felt great because I was given a third chance, so you understand why I see the humor in the second rejection mail.

It was the use of “still” for me

Looking back, I’m glad I was bold enough to fight for my right to be interviewed (that’s not even an official right, is it?). If you’re actively applying for scholarships, it might be helpful to note the mistakes I made. I don’t want you to make them too. 

Capisce?

Leave a comment